Pokemon Go! Birthday Card

Standard

I have to admit, these instructions are mostly for me, in case I need to make one of these again.  I can’t believe how many different punches I used.  I do love punch art.  Half of the fun is finding the right punch to do the right job, without having to resort to creating something free-hand.

So I created this Pokemon Go! card for my grandson’s birthday.  The inside sentiment says “…collect a Happy Birthday.”  This game seems to be all the rage right now.  I hope you like my interpretation.

All supplies used are from Stampin’ Up!, with the exception of the alphabet used for the front and inside sentiment.

Pokemon

Poke’ ball

Punches/Tools

Circle Framelit 3.25” diameter (cut one red, one black)

1 3/8” circle punch (punch 1 black)

1” circle punch (punch 1 white)

¾” circle punch (punch 1 white)

 

Paper:

Real Red CS

Whisper White CS

Basic Black CS

 

Other: 

 

Stampin’ Dimensionals (for center of Poke’ ball and to raise Pikachu from card)

 

Instructions:

 

Cut two 3.25” circles, one red one white.  Cut either the red or the white one in half and glue that half onto the circle you left whole.  Cut a strip of black paper, ½” wide, longer than 3.25.”  Glue the black strip in the center of the ball, where the white and red meet.  Trim the black strip to the shape of the ball.

 

Glue your 1” white circle onto the center of the black 1 3/8” circle.  Glue them in the center of the poke’ ball on the black strip.  Put a dimensional in the center of the 1” white circle and then attach the ¾” to the dimensional.

 

Pikachu

 

All of these punches and tools are from Stampin’ Up!  Some are unfortunately retired, but you can find similar shapes in some of the newer framelits or other market sources.

 

Punches/Tools:

Head:  1 ¼” square punch  – or cut square this size (yellow CS) using a corner chomper or the

Project Life Corner punch – “chomp” the corners off of the yellow square, this makes the head

Cheeks:  3/8” circle punch (cut two out of pink)

Eyes:  I used the Owl Builder Punch (cut two black circles)

Pupils:  I used the Sprinkles Punch (cut two white pupils)

Nose:  I used the Owl Builder Punch (cut one tiny black circle)

Mouth: I used a shape from the Sprinkles Punch (cut one red), or you can draw a black line mouth

Ears: I used the Festive Flower Builder Punch (cut two yellow ears and two black ears using the center design in the punch.

Body:  2” x 1 3/8” Oval Punch (cut one yellow)

Paws/legs: Word Window Punch (cut two yellow)

Tail: I cut a rectangle 1.5” by 1” and trimmed it with the 1.25” square punch (make one yellow)

 

Front Sentiment:

 

Word Bubbles Framelit Die

Alphabet from “Fiskers.”

Black StazOn Ink

 

Paper:

 

Daffodil Delight CS

Blushing Bride CS

Basic Black CS (card base and parts of Pikachu)

Whisper White CS

DSP from my stash for the background

Crumb Cake Ink and dauber to brush edges of Pikachu pieces

 

 

Put the Pikachu together as shown.  I trimmed the two black ear pieces to glue to the top of the yellow ear pieces for ear detail.  I lifted the Pikachu from the card with dimensionals, so the word bubble would go behind.

 

The inside of the card says “…collect a Happy Birthday!”

One response

  1. Absolutely adorable. I almost wish I had someone of the age that would appreciate one of these and I’d make one. TFS